Portugal

With hand luggage of approximately 30kg's (thanx to Ryan airs ridiculous rules about maximum checked in weight of 15kg's) I have now safely landed in Faro. I think we got about 1 hour sleep last night before the little smart set off to the airport so I am not the most alert, but what does that matter when you arrive to a place directly cut out of a travel magazine and the sun is shining so brightly that your skin immediately turns red just looking out of the window of the airport.

After repacking my bags I found the bus and made the little walk to the hostel. The town turned out to be a lot smaller than I imagined, I heard numbers around 50 000 inhabitants, but it feels like you could get anywhere just by walking.

I can see the ocean from my window of the hostel and even if there is some swampland between me and the great blue I can already feel the taste of salt on the tip of my tongue. No surf here but I did found a few surf shops and in the hostel they give out what appears to be a free surf magazine of Portugal. A good sign of what to come.


As you know I don't speak a word of Portuguese and to be honest I never really heard it spoken either. Now with it all around me I think it sounds a little like eastern Europe stuck in a sunny place for too long. It really sounds very little like Spanish and I think it will be very much harder to learn than I thought.


Teamed up with an English guy that is here to study language and will go out for a few cold ones later, but right now I really just have to get my head down for a few hours.






Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0