First day, or was it first week, month, year?

After a long hard think I realize I've only been in this town for two nights.. It really feels so much longer!

And most of it is because of one guy!

N!

Being a former Erasmus student of Umeå he has now come back to his home in Lisabon and has put his everything into helping us out in this new and amazing place.

We have pumped him for so much information and he has been so helpful I assume hes been dropping dead every night since we met him.

Thanx to him we now not only know most of the basics for the big citylife, we have also seen the beach, the surf and today also one of the enormous shopping malls that are spread out outside the city.

My purchase was the cheapest 3mm wetsuit the place had and a pair of neoprene gloves for those early morning sessions on the board.


Our biggest concern right now is of course to find a more permanent place to live, preferably close to the beach or close to Uni.

Thanx to N we have already had the advantage of calling several ads, and finding a place closer to the beach, despite the relatively low rents, has proved a lot harder than we wished for.

Our backup plan now is to have a look at a place in the city and also call on a few ads that we got from uni during our guided tour there today. Me and O have agreed on trying to find a double room to get the rent down and thereby have more money over to rent a car for weekends or take longer train trips to other surfsports.


As I said before this town has really taken me in and I feel right at home almost wherever I go and even if I still can not make out a word of the spoken language I surprise myself time after another with understanding quite a lot of the written signs and simple text I have come across so far.

Tomorrow is the big welcome meeting and also the first of the famous Erasmus parties so I think things will pick up really fast after that. We will hopefully get some work done during the day thou, quite a lot of forms and papers need to be sorted out and there is always the race of calling the attractive apartments before everyone else gets hold of them so I guess we're in for another hectic day.


Now it's time for a cold one and just enjoying the atmosphere in the city that finally stopped pour down with rain today and hopefully will not get more flooded during the upcoming week.


I'll try to post a few random pics sometime soon, but it is a bit tricky as my usb-stick is still with my former employer and friend in the best nightclub in Umeå, so, mr F if you read this, shame on you for being such slow handler of things! I need that document sometime soon as well, get on with it!








Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0